RSS

Those Who Deny Reason Cannot Be Conquered By It

29 Oct

Well, here we go, almost time to go ‘On The Road Again…’ as the song goes!

Unfortunately, many of the workers here are moving on, since they are being treated in ways that they think is unfair.
I know, two sides (sometimes five!) to every story, but for the majority of the speaking, it is a negative picture being painted.
Without revealing too much, the owners are showing obvious, blatant, and regular signs of worker abuse, and after years of putting up with it, most of the workers are finished just laying down and taking it.

Thusly, I will not stick around for much longer.
I appreciate the opportunity to learn so much in such a short amount of time, and I appreciate what little has been given to me.
But I did not come to the Philippines to be criticized, ridiculed, and made to feel useless and incompetent.
I’m pretty sure I said the exact same things when I was leaving my ex, did I not? lol

Happily, I have been saving money for the Bistro….so I have a little bit of money to draw upon if need be for visas, until I can find suitable freelance work, or until I can get the food place up and running……I won’t give up on that idea, it’s been a dream of mine for many years to start my own Food Spot, and with over 11 years experience working in Kitchens, I know I can do it.

I think, in the last ten minutes, I have also scored a freelancing gig putting together and maintaining a website for a new ‘Zine here in the Philippines…….
Wut Wuuuut.
But in order to work it, I will need a bloody internet frigging connection if I leave to go live in Bais.
I will either have to work at an internet cafe or stay here for a bit longer….which even the idea of sickens me……
The last few weeks have been rough and I’ve been thinking of going back to self harm as a goddamn coping mechanism.
EWWWWW, gross Idea, Jessica!

Anywhoo, just wanted to update y’all 12 people who read this 😉
By the way, thanks for continuing to read this.

Also by the way….anyone else notice prices went up a bit on stuff at your local sari-saris?
Beer went up five pesos, and pancit noodles went up three pesos!
BOOOOO!!!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Those Who Deny Reason Cannot Be Conquered By It

  1. Mark Fitzgerald

    October 30, 2014 at 3:55 am

    Well Duma Girl, onwards and upwards to whatever lies ahead.

    It’s not just there that prices are going crazy. I went into my local supermarket the other day intending to buy some cubed steak…..$6.99 a pound….for CUBED STEAK. I mean that’s twice what it has gone for up until this year…… and $5.00 a pound for hamburger….I mean come on.

    Anyways, best of luck in whatever comes along next…..I have faith you’ll make it work out…..and I look forward to hearing all about it.

    ~Mark

     
    • Jessica Conrad

      October 30, 2014 at 4:50 am

      Yeek whereabouts again in america are you?
      We’re lucky that meat and seafood prices are still pretty cheap here, but they’re getting pricey…especially the pork and chicken, I think because the powers that be know the demand will never slow down.
      Go Team Adobo!
      lol

      I also found out that Manila is HELLA expensive compared to the provinces….stick of bbq here is 5 pesos each, in Manila its FIFTEEN pesos each, that’s insanity.

       
      • Mark Fitzgerald

        October 30, 2014 at 1:12 pm

        I’m down in South Florida, on the Gulf coast just south of Ft Myers. Here chicken is about the only thing that has stayed stable. I buy skinless,boneless chicken breast and it’s been $2.00 a pound for years and it’s one of the few things that has maintained its price. Anything else I have to wait till it’s on sale and buy a bunch of it and stick it in the freezer.
        Even the McDonalds and Taco bell prices have gone up quite noticeably. The cheap old taco bell visit that used to cost $4-5 now costs about $9……pretty much doubled in the past 5 years or so.

        So what do you figure your living expenses are a month there, or what you think they would be under the normal circumstances of renting a 1br apt, utilities, food, and nominal entertainment?

        I keep a pretty simple lifestyle….most of my spare time I spend sitting on the beach reading, smoke a pack of whatever cheap cigs a day, drink a bottle of rum a week, buy one book and go to one movie a week……that’s pretty much life for me…lol.

        You have one group of people that say they live great on anything from $600-1000 a month (USD) to others who say they couldn’t live for under like $2000 a month…..hell I live on less than $2000 a month net here in S. Florida so I figure those guys are either insane or have a vastly different lifestyle than I intend to live.

         
      • Jessica Conrad

        November 8, 2014 at 12:41 am

        I’ll write my next post on the cost breakdowns!

         
  2. Bob Jones

    March 4, 2015 at 3:52 am

    Well?

     

Have an opinion?

 
