RSS

Silence Is a Text Easily Misread

04 Oct

AAHHHHHHH!!!

I was absent too long! 
Don’t worry, I’m not dead yet!

Like I’ve been mentioning, the last few weeks has been a bit rough around the edges for Damon & I… It was leading to a lot of unnecessary tension, and it built to a head the other night and burst open like a big sack of gooey green pus.
Nothing life-altering whatsoever, we were talking about something I can’t even remember, and he told me I can sometimes be a finicky b!tch.

I lost it, started crying my head off, drank a pint of rum in the bathroom, and sulked for about two days. 

Finally, he got tough with me and one afternoon made me lay down and snuggle with him…

((Terrible marriage, when ‘getting tough’ means ‘making me snuggle’, eh? It’s laughable now, but I was illogically cranky at the time))

We then took two days just staying close, talking, snuggling, and, in his words, ‘Tending the Nest’.
We cooked food together, ate together, laughed and giggled at each other’s silly antics and kissed and hugged each other a lot.

In my opinion, it is very important to nurture a relationship with that sort of affectionate, innocent closeness every once in a while… It clears the air and clarifies the bonds that you share with your significant other.
You’re reminded that you’re both together because you want to be, and not because you have to be… Which is a really good thing to remember.

With everything emotionally sorted, I ended up painting him a watercolor, putting up the hammock in the yard, and writing this bloggity out. I also have two videos to share.

The first one is a Mimosa plant… They’re known as ‘shy’ plants because when you touch them, they collapse and close up.
I remember when I was young, our science teacher brought one in to show us. He told us that if you touch them too many times, they die, and that they were very rare.

Now that I live in the Philippines, I see them every day, they grow like crazy all over the place!!
When I first found out that they grew in our yard, I freaked out with excitement, I couldn’t believe we had them. 
Second to Lilacs, they’re my favorite plant.

The second video is of a worm.
Not spectacularly exciting, I know, but the worms in Canada are very slow when you poke them…they don’t really care, and tend to just scrunch up for a second, then continue on their way.
Philippine worms, however, act as if they’re having a panic attack when you touch them, then slither away like a snake. I was fascinated the first time I poked a worm here and it wigged out.

Anyway, I guess I shall go for now, but I will try in the future to stay as regular as I’m used to being.
I try to make a post every day before five pm, though a lot of the time it’s realistically before ten pm.
Either way, sorry to my followers, and I hope this one makes up for my absence!
Don’t forget to tell your loved ones how you feel about ’em.

-Vicky-

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Silence Is a Text Easily Misread

  1. Franc Ramon

    October 4, 2013 at 6:15 am

    I guess it’s important spending time on similar activities to maintain the chemistry.

     
    • Victoria Flint

      October 4, 2013 at 8:04 am

      Well, I would say it’s not necessarily sharing the same activities, but moreso about taking time to focus on each other with no distractions…

       
  2. Phil

    October 4, 2013 at 9:29 am

    Hi! great entry! My one query… when do we see the watercolor?

     
    • Victoria Flint

      October 4, 2013 at 9:33 am

      Hahah, I was thinking that, as soon as I upload the photo I will post it. =:)

       
  3. Mary Anderson

    October 4, 2013 at 10:57 am

    That is indeed a cool plant!

     
  4. diana

    October 6, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    the plant is soooo cool, love reading your blog. keep it up.

     
    • Victoria Flint

      October 6, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Thank you so much!!
      Isn’t it though? I’m in love with that darn plant lol

       

Have an opinion?

 
