RSS

The Price of Freedom? About Fifteen-Hundred Bucks

29 Sep
Damon and a huge green wall

Well, I did it again.
Though to my credit I woke up at five am and made French Fries with balsamic vinegar, basil, salt and Tabasco… Watched a bit of Remington Steele, then went back to bed at around nine am.

It is sooo humid today, I think we’re about due for a really good storm to clear the air, and the clouds are moving fast, but I honestly don’t think its going to show up.
It’s funny to look at the weather forecast and see – Windchill: 27 deg.C…In Canada it usually said something like Windchill:  – 20 deg. C

Yes, Negative Twenty, I one hundred percent do NOT miss that.

Damon says he misses snow, and I kind of sympathize… Watching a heavy snowfall from the window as you curl up in fuzzy pajamas and drink hot beverages is kind of a nice experience… But waiting for a bus that may or may not show up while you stand shin-deep in snow, ankle deep in slushy gunk with six bags of groceries that the bottoms are falling out on, while biting, brutally cold wind is ripping at your eyes and nose is pretty much the worst feeling ever.

To explain the title of this bloggity post a bit more…

I was trying to explain to my friends on the ‘ol Book of Face how cheap the cost of living here was, because I miss having people to hang out with, and I want everyone to come here and be as happy as I am… Every single one of them has an excuse about how they have a business to run, or rent to pay, or family they don’t want to leave behind, or they’re stickin’ it to the ‘Man’ or what-have-you…

While to a degree I can understand their situations, I know for a fact it only takes three or four months to save up a thousand dollars, and that’s about as much you need to get here from Canada.

Once you’re here, like I explained to my buddies:

Eggs and tomatoes are around seven cents each…
Onions are ten cents.
A pint of rum is 71 cents, and a pack of smokes is about a dollar.
Two giant lamb steaks are about ten bucks…
A can of coffee is about five bucks.
A pack of ‘mr. noodles’, Lucky Me noodles here, is about 21 cents.

With prices like these, I don’t know why anyone in their right mind lives in the Western world anymore.

For my Filipino readers, just as a comparison, in Canada:
Eggs – 12 for 147 pesos
Tomatoes – 42 pesos each
Onions – about 63 pesos for two or three
A pint of rum – 1400 to 2000 PESOS….FOR THE CHEAP STUFF!!!!!!!
a pack of smokes – 500 to 600 pesos
Two giant lamb steaks – 2500 pesos
A can of coffee – 630 to 850 pesos
A pack of ‘mr. noodles’ – 42 pesos

Isn’t that absolutely insane?
Even while I lived there I didn’t know how anyone could be well-off, and living here, I’ve just reinforced my belief that the western world is going down the tubes.

Anywhoo, Damon and I are still trying to think up business ideas and applying for jobs in other countries, though nothing is looking good for the immediate future… It may be super cheap to live here, but it still does technically cost something.

My ideal dream is for us to move to Siquijor and just live on the beach with all of our cats in a house we build ourselves.
He says he knows enough people that we could probably pay someone a few pesos each month to live on their land, which would be really nice.

Ideally, I would continue this bloggity, and start to design, create, and sell my own clothing and jewelry, which has been a goal of mine since childhood.

He’d go off fishing or hunting lizards or whatever he would do all day, and we would help our community by planting veggie gardens and teaching the local kids random stuff like English, or cooking, or Sports like Bordenball or whatever they needed or wanted…We’d continue collecting cats and keeping them healthy and neutered, and maybe someday even open a little restaurant from our home.

Someday all of it will be a reality… If I made it this far, those dreams aren’t far off the map.

 

 

Feel like funding the dream?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Price of Freedom? About Fifteen-Hundred Bucks

  1. Mary

    October 4, 2013 at 11:12 am

    I just realized that we got “swapped.” I am from Dumaguete now living in Canada and you are from Canada now living in Dumaguete. Now, why do people still live here, you ask? For one, I prefer the subarctic Canadian winter over the crazy, humid heat over there. Hehehe! (And yes, people here I’m really weird for that.)

     
    • Victoria Flint

      October 5, 2013 at 1:07 am

      WOW hahahah, really!
      When I was in Calgary, there was a few Filipinos working there and I was always impressed at how darn fast and efficient they were….and SO NICE!
      I feel like Canadians pay a lot of lip service to being nice, but they have nothing at all on Filipinos.

      ……You prefer winter?!!? WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU?!?!? lololol

       
      • Mary

        October 6, 2013 at 8:41 am

        Hahaha! I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I am constantly turning the heater down nowadays too.

        Anyhow, I would say Filipinos are maybe friendlier and happier than Canadians but not necessarily nicer…

         
      • Victoria Flint

        October 6, 2013 at 4:16 pm

        Well, to put it this way:
        Canadians & Filipinos will both give you the shirt off their backs……but once you leave, Canadians will start smack-talking you like they know you, and Filipinos will just talk about who you are and how they met you.

        Call me jaded, but I’ve had a lot of bad experiences with people living in Canada lol

         

Have an opinion?

 
